E.L. Haynes’ first graduating seniors earn more than $3.5 million in  merit scholarships, and 100% are accepted to college (2015).

High School teacher Barrie Moorman wins the 2015 Patricia Behring National Teacher of the Year Award (2015).

E.L. Haynes senior Kai Lin Shi wins the prestigious Gates Millennium Scholarship and Brandon Cardona wins a National Science Foundation Scholarship (2015).

E.L. Haynes founder and former head of school Jennifer C. Niles becomes DC’s Deputy Mayor for Education (2015).



Albright College

Allegheny College

Acadia University

Barry University

Benedict College

Bennett College

Bethune-Cookman University

Claflin University

Columbia College Chicago

Fayetteville State University

Florida Institute of Technology

Florida Memorial University

Franklin University - Switzerland

George Mason University

Goucher College

Hampton-Sydney College

Hampton University

Hofstra University

Hollands College

Howard University

Ithaca College

John Cabot University – Italy

John Carroll University

Johnson and Wales University

Kalamazoo College

Langston University

Lincoln University

Lynn University

Marymount University

McDaniel College

Michigan State University

Montgomery College

Morehouse College

Morgan State University

Mount St. Mary’s University

Muhlenberg College

North Carolina A&T University

North Carolina Central University

Northern Virginia Community College

Old Dominion University

Olivet Nazarene University

Pace University

Radford University

Randolph College

Randolph-Macon College

Regent University

Rochester Institute of Technology

Rutgers University

Salisbury University

Santa Monica College

Southern Adventist University

St. John’s University

St. Joseph’s University

State University of New York at Oswego

Temple University

Towson University

Trinity College

Trinity Washington University

University of Advancing Technology

University of Arizona

University of Hartford

University of Kansas

University of Maryland, Baltimore County

University of Maryland, College Park

University of Redlands

University of San Francisco

University of Scranton

University of the District of Columbia

University of the Pacific

Virginia Commonwealth University

Virginia State University

Virginia Tech University

Virginia Union University

West Virginia State University

Wiley College

Xavier University

York College



E.L. Haynes' vision is to make a lasting impact on education locally and nationally. We work to transform public education through strategic partnerships and specially-designed programs, serving as a national model of leadership, excellence, and innovation. Our programs impact tens of thousands of students across DC.


E.L. Haynes’ DC Common Core Collaborative, supported by a $1.4 million Race to the Top grant from OSSE, supported DC’s transition to the Common Core State Standards. More than 100 teachers from 30 public schools participated in the program, impacting more than 11,000 DC students.


In order to meet the critical need for outstanding teachers, E.L. Haynes and KIPP DC created the Capital Teaching Residency program in 2009 to cultivate a pipeline of exceptional talent for DC schools. By 2016, CTR will train nearly 260 new teachers who will impact more than 30,000 students citywide.


Each summer, E.L. Haynes staff members gather for professional development around a shared goal: closing the achievement gap between white students and students of color. Piloted by former E.L. Haynes principal Michelle Molitor, Race and Equity Seminars (REES) began at E.L. Haynes in 2009 and have been replicated across the city.